Google Forms brings auto-save function
Google Form, Quiz, or Quiz assignment is a free questionnaire survey service provided by Google. Users can write their own questions or text boxes to request respondents to fill in different content.
In general, the content of questionnaire services is relatively small, such as a few questions, but there are also questionnaire surveys, especially surveys that collect information, which may have a lot of content.
Therefore, if the user accidentally closes the page and the device is powered off during the filling process, the content may be lost, and sometimes the content will be lost when leaving the page for a long time.
This is because current browsers have automatic freezing technology to save memory. Pages that have been inactive for a long time will be automatically frozen and reopened and reloaded by the browser.
Based on user feedback, Google has now brought an auto-save function to its survey service, that is, the content filled in by the user will be automatically saved to the corresponding account.
Therefore, even if the page is closed or frozen and needs to be reloaded, as long as the user logs in to the Google account, the content can be automatically restored from the saved data.
Google said that automatically saved form data will be saved for 30 days, which means that users can restore data from the cloud if they reopen the corresponding form within 30 days.
When the user fills in the form, an auto-save prompt will be displayed at the top of the page, but if the user is offline, it cannot be automatically saved, which may result in data loss.
According to Google’s instructions, both personal and corporate accounts can use this feature, including Google Workspace, G Suite Basic, and Business.
However, at this stage, Google is gradually introducing the auto-save feature, so some users may not be able to use it. Usually, this feature will be the first to provide corporate users.
Google also enables this feature by default, but users can also manually disable the auto-save feature in the set presentation limit if they need to disable it.
Finally, Google reminds us that if the investigator changes the topic or content in the middle, all users’ data saved in the cloud may not be restored or can only be partially restored, etc.