Google announced that it will shut down the Google+ social media platform for individual users on April 2, 2019, when all user accounts and data will be deleted. Last December, the tech giant said it would close Google+ from August 2019. Because of its serious privacy issues, Google decided to close Google+ in April 2019.
Google said, “On April 2nd, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted.”
In March, the owner or moderator of the Google+ community will be able to download and save additional data for their community—including photos and posts. If you have a backup need, you can do it now.
It’s important to note that for G Suite users, their Google+ social platform will remain active. Google said it will get a new look and more in the coming weeks.