Wed. Nov 20th, 2019

Mozilla introduces new Firefox user information anti-tracking strategy

2 min read

Mozilla recently launched the latest Firefox anti-tracking strategy. The new version of the anti-tracking technique describes that Firefox will block related information tracking by default. These anti-tracking strategies were recently designed by Firefox, which was added to the Firefox 63 release last October.

Firefox will disable all legacy add-ons

Mozilla wrote, “In support of this effort, today we are releasing an anti-tracking policy that outlines the tracking practices that Firefox will block by default. At a high level, this new policy will curtail tracking techniques that are used to build profiles of users’ browsing activity. In the policy, we outline the types of tracking practices that users cannot meaningfully control. Firefox may apply technical restrictions to the parties found using each of these techniques.”

Mozilla released this new strategy on a wiki page. According to the description on the wiki page, Firefox relies on a list of spam ads to perform related anti-tracking strategies. This list is provided by Disconnect.me. The company mainly provides some Personal information anti-tracking service.

If a site does the following, the site will be added to the list:

  1. Cross-site tracking

    Cookie-based cross-site tracking. Cookies, DOM storage, and other types of stateful identifiers are often used by third parties to associate browsing across multiple websites with the same user and to build profiles of those users, in violation of the user’s expectation.

  2.  Tracking via unintended identification techniques

    Unintended identification techniques use browser features that are not intended for device or user identification for the purposes of storing or generating a tracking identifier. Unlike tracking using standards-defined storage locations – such as cookies or the Web Storage API – these techniques are not under the control of the browser’s state management settings. Thus cannot be easily cleared or reset by users