AMD Ryzen 8040U series processors spotted for the first time

Hawk Point is an enhancement built upon the existing Phoenix chipset, still fabricated using a 4nm process, with a TDP of 28W, tailored for mobile platforms. The CPU component retains the Zen 4 architecture, with up to 8 cores. However, the GPU section will be upgraded to the RDNA 3.5/3+ architecture, featuring a maximum of 12 CUs. The XDNA architecture AI engine will also undergo further refinement, expected to debut around the 2024 CES event.

Recent disclosures by netizens suggest that, based on shipping records, several products are under development within the Ryzen 8040U series, namely:

Ryzen 7 8840U

  • Ryzen 7 8840U (100-000001325-00)
  • Ryzen 5 8540U (100-000001326-00)
  • Ryzen 3 8440U (100-00000XXX-00)

According to AMD’s nomenclature, these processors adopt the Zen 4 architecture and are most likely part of Hawk Point, utilizing the same socket as Phoenix. Beyond the Ryzen 8040U series, there’s also a lineup for the Ryzen 7000G series, targeting desktop platforms and using the AM5 socket, including:

  • Ryzen 5 PRO 7500G (100-000001183-00)
  • Ryzen 5 7500G (100-00000931-00)
  • Ryzen 3 7300G (100-000001187-00)

It is understood that the Ryzen 7000G series listed uses the Phoenix2 chipset, which occupies approximately 23% less area than the original Phoenix, resulting in reduced manufacturing costs. It comprises 2 performance cores based on the Zen 4 architecture and 4 power-efficient cores based on the Zen 4c architecture, totaling 6 cores and 12 threads. In essence, the Zen 4 and Zen 4c architectures employ the same ISA; the latter is merely a low-power, streamlined version of the former, with 35% less core area but equivalent IPC. Based on prior tests with the Zen 4c core-equipped EPYC 8004 series server processors, codenamed “Siena”, the power efficiency is commendable.

Given the shipping records for both the Ryzen 8040U and Ryzen 7000G series, an official launch seems imminent.