Last week, Google launched a new developer preview version of Android 11, although Google announced the update log, some developers also found that Google did not disclose new features.
There is a new feature in this Android 11 Developer Preview 3. This function is called auto revoke permissions. When this option is turned on, if the application is not used for more than one month, the system will automatically revoke the permission granted by the user.
For example, some applications need to be granted address book and SMS permissions for the first time. If the user does not use them for a long time, these applications may still read the information in the background.
This may cause potential security risks to users’ private data, so Google brings this feature in Android version 11 to improve data security.
As far as the current developer preview version is concerned, Google does not enable this feature by default. Only users who view the application details can see the automatic revocation of authorization at the bottom.
According to the instructions, when the user turns on auto revoke an authorization if the user does not use the application within a month, the system will automatically revoke the relevant permissions after the expiration.
The permissions here do not specify which permissions are included, but such as address books, text messages, cameras, files, and microphones that involve user privacy are included.
Other permissions that are not related to privacy and security may not be automatically revoked. After the automatic revoking, the user may need to reset the granted permissions when using the application next time.